Slate of Directors for 2020 and Consideration of Bylaw Changes Announced

Slate of Directors for 2020 and Consideration of Bylaw Changes Announced

TO:   All DAAR Members
FROM: Barry Allbright, 2020 Nomination Committee Chair
Phyllis Stakem, 2019 DAAR President
RE: Slate of Officer’s & Directors for 2020 and Bylaw Changes

This memo serves as official notice to the DAAR membership of the Slate of Directors for election at the September 26th, 2019 Annual Membership Meeting to be held at the Holiday Inn Dulles, 45425 Holiday Drive, Sterling, VA, 12:15 PM, during the DAAR REALTOR® Recharge Conference and Expo.

The slate of directors are:

Richard Blessing, WEICHERT Commercial, Ashburn, 12/22
Angie Bresnahan, Keller Williams Loudoun Gateway, Ashburn, 12/22
Meg Burke, RE/MAX Premier, Leesburg, 12/22
Allan Marteney, Atoka Properties, Middleburg, 12/22
Judy McHenry, Century 21 Redwood, Ashburn, 12/22
Ray Rees, Keller Williams Realty, Leesburg, 12/22
Teresa Gentry, The Myer Group at Merrill Lynch, Leesburg (Affiliate Representative), 12/22

The following individuals are continuing in unexpired terms:

Michelle Campbell, Long & Foster Leesburg, 12/21
Phyllis Stakem, RE/MAX Select, Ashburn, 12/20
Robert Butcher, Berkshire Hathaway, Hamilton, 12/21
Nancy Pav, Century 21 Redwood, Ashburn, 12/21
Kyle Crawford, Century 21 New Millennium, Ashburn, 12/21
Lou Cironi, Evergreen Realty, Hamilton, 12/21
Chrissie Goodrum, Hunt Country Sotheby’s, Leesburg, 12/21
Kathryn Sink, Homes for Leaders Real Estate, Purcellville, 12/20
P.J. Riner, Century 21 Redwood, Ashburn, 12/20
Yvonne Holland, Century 21 Redwood, Ashburn, 12/20
Omni Casey, Weichert, Ashburn, 12/20
Barry Taylor, Weichert, Great Falls, 12/21
Charlotte Bonini, Century 21 Redwood, Ashburn, 12/20
Aimee Waltz, Fidelity Bank Mortgage, 12/20

The DAAR Bylaws state as follows: Article XI, Section 4 (a) …The report of the Nominating Committee shall be noticed to each Member eligible to vote at least three (3) weeks preceding the election. Additional candidates for the offices to be filled may be placed in nomination by petition signed by at least 10% of the REALTOR® Members eligible to vote. The petition shall be filed with the CEO at least two (2) weeks before the election. The CEO shall send notice of such additional nominations to all Members eligible to vote before the election.

Our special thanks go out to the members of the committee for their diligent work:

Barry Allbright, Keller Williams Realty (Chairman)
Kelly Gaitten, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, Hamilton
Tanya Spotts, Long and Foster, Leesburg
Sue Puleo, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, Hamilton
Hannah Won, Pearson Smith Realty, Ashburn
Barry Taylor, Weichert REALTORS, Great Falls
Kath Jones, Long and Foster, Ashburn

DAAR Bylaw Changes

Additionally, you will be asked at the Annual Meeting to vote on changes to the bylaws as recommended by the Board of Directors. The changes are related to clarifying qualification process for REALTOR® membership, reducing the number of members on the Board of Directors (BOD) from 21 to 17, adding term limits for the BOD, eliminating the BOD broker composition requirement, streamlining the BOD excused absence policy, changing the annual due date for dues from December 1st to November 1st, changing the term “Chair” to “Vice President” when referring to executive committee titles and adding new roles in 2021 – President, President-Elect, Treasurer, Immediate Past President, reorganizing standing committee language and moving executive committee roles to the policy and procedures manual. To view the bylaw changes, click here.