2019 DAAR REALTORS® and Affiliates Honored

The Dulles Area Association of REALTORS® recognized several REALTORS® who reached exceptional levels in the real estate industry in 2019. They were honored and celebrated at the DAAR REALTOR® Virtual Awards Reception on Tuesday, June 30th.

The awards include the annual REALTOR® of the Year, Jeanette Newton Community Leadership Award, and members in the Circle of Excellence. DAAR also announced recipients of the Rookie of the Year, Affiliate of the Year, and Production, Anniversary, and Special Recognition Awards.

2019 DAAR Award Winners

2019 REALTOR® of the Year
Phyllis Stakem with award
Phyllis Stakem
RE/MAX Select Properties
Jeanette Newton Community
Leadership Award
Sandy Loftis with award
Sandy Loftis
Weichert REALTORS®
2019 Affiliate of the Year2019 Rookie of the Year2019 Educator of the Year
Brendan Bowie with AwardAbby Hitt with AwardKaren Daily with Award
Brendan Bowie
My Guys Moving
Abby Hitt
Hunt County Sotheby’s Int.
Karen Daily
Ekko Title
2019 DAAR Top Producers
Jeddie Busch with awardJaneen Marconi with awardCharles Witt
2nd Place: Jeddie Busch
Coldwell Banker Residential
1st Place: Janeen Marconi
Hunt County Sotheby’s Int.
3rd Place: Charles Witt
NOVA Home Hunters
2019 DAAR Top Producer
Garrell Group Photo


This year’s REALTOR® of the Year, Phyllis Stakem has been a DAAR member for twenty five years. She is a previous Circle of Excellence award winner, is committed to professional development and education excellence, dedicated to leadership and industry involvement. Phyllis strives for the highest ethical standards while demonstrating that true success comes from excellent relationships with fellow agents, clients and customers.

Phyllis has given countless hours of volunteer work on behalf of the association. Her priority is to continually better the environment in which we work with the belief that everyone has a voice and should be heard. Her amazing ability to communicate and advocate on our behalf with local government, MLS leadership and our regional association partners played a key role in advancing the interests of the industry.

Jeannette Newton Community Leadership Award:

This award, named after Jeanette Newton, and DAAR’s CEO for over 25 years, recognizes REALTORS® who have demonstrated immense commitment toward community service and activism. As many of you know, Jeanette devoted over 35 years to the real estate industry, community and public service efforts. The recipient of the Jeanette Newton Community Leadership Award portrays a dedication to leadership, community and public service, humanitarianism and courage like she did. Congratulations Sandy Loftis!

Rookie of the Year

Abby Hitt, Hunt County Sotheby’s International

Top Producers – Individual

1st Place: Janeen Marconi, Hunt County Sotheby’s International
2nd Place: Jeddie Busch, Coldwell Banker Residential
3rd Place: Charles Witt, NOVA Home Hunters Realty


Top Producer Team of the Year

The Garrell Group, Keller Williams Realty, Leesburg
Jean Garrell, Mark Garrell, Debbie Buckley, Ronda Hardison, Lisa Krnich, Ruth-Anne Hrebenach, and Marie Curtis.


Educator of the Year

Karen Daily, Ekko Title

Affiliate of the Year

Brendan Bowie, My Guys Moving

Anniversary Awards