Annual Meeting Update: Slate of Directors for 2020 and Bylaw Changes Approved

Photo from the presentation

President Phyllis Stakem delivers the state of the association report.

The Annual Meeting of the Dulles Area Association of REALTORS took place on Thursday, September 26th, 2019, 12:15-12:45PM at the Holiday Inn Dulles, 45425 Holiday Drive, Sterling, VA during the DAAR RECHARGE event.  Following the delivery of President Phyllis Stakem’s annual state of the association address, the following slate of directors were approved by motion by the membership:

Richard Blessing, WEICHERT Commercial, Ashburn, 12/22
Angie Bresnahan, Keller Williams Loudoun Gateway, Ashburn, 12/22
Meg Burke, RE/MAX Premier, Leesburg, 12/22
Allan Marteney, Hunt Country Sotheby’s, Leesburg, 12/22
Judy McHenry, Century 21 Redwood, Ashburn, 12/22
Ray Rees, Keller Williams Realty, Leesburg, 12/22
Teresa Gentry, The Myer Group at Merrill Lynch, Leesburg (Affiliate Representative), 12/22

The following individuals are continuing in unexpired terms:

Phyllis Stakem, RE/MAX Select, Ashburn, 12/20
Robert Butcher, Berkshire Hathaway, Hamilton, 12/21
Nancy Pav, Century 21 Redwood, Ashburn, 12/21
Kyle Crawford, Century 21 New Millennium, Ashburn, 12/21
Lou Cironi, Evergreen Realty, Hamilton, 12/21
Chrissie Goodrum, Hunt Country Sotheby’s, Leesburg, 12/21
Kathryn Sink, Homes for Leaders Real Estate, Purcellville, 12/20
P.J. Riner, Century 21 Redwood, Ashburn, 12/20
Yvonne Holland, Century 21 Redwood, Ashburn, 12/20
Omni Casey, Weichert, Ashburn, 12/20
Barry Taylor, Weichert, Great Falls, 12/21
Charlotte Bonini, Century 21 Redwood, Ashburn, 12/20
Aimee Waltz, Fidelity Bank Mortgage, 12/20

Our special thanks go out to the members of the Nominating Committee for their diligent work:

Barry Allbright, Keller Williams Realty (Chairman)
Kelly Gaitten, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, Hamilton
Tanya Spotts, Long and Foster, Leesburg
Sue Puleo, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services, Hamilton
Hannah Won, Pearson Smith Realty, Ashburn
Barry Taylor, Weichert REALTORS, Great Falls
Kath Jones, Long and Foster, Ashburn

Additionally, members approved changes to the bylaws as recommended by the Board of Directors. The changes are related to clarifying qualification process for REALTOR® membership, reducing the number of members on the Board of Directors (BOD) from 21 to 17, adding term limits for the BOD, eliminating the BOD broker composition requirement, streamlining the BOD excused absence policy, changing the annual due date for dues from December 1st to November 1st, changing the term “Chair” to “Vice President” when referring to executive committee titles and adding new roles in 2021 – President, President-Elect, Treasurer, Immediate Past President, reorganizing standing committee language and moving executive committee roles to the policy and procedures manual.  To view the bylaw changes, click here.

For questions, please contact Christine Windle, CEO, DAAR, or 571-291-9803.